NOTES OF CHAPTER “SUMMARY”

NOTE [1] - “Building System of the Pyramids” by Pierre Crozat published by Canevas Editor (1997), ISBN n°2-88382-065-1.


NOTES OF CHAPTER “INTRODUCTION”

NOTE [2] - They are dated from the 4th dynasty, under the Ancient Empire. The three great ones are located on the plateau of Giza, near Cairo, the greatest and the most famous “marvel of the world” being Pharaoh Cheops' one (147 metres height).

NOTE [3] - Herodotus, Greek historian (5th century BC) - “the Inquiry”- Book II - articles 125 and 126, Gallimard Editions (1964).

NOTE [4] - Diodore of Sicily, Greek historian (1st century BC) - “Birth of Gods and Men” - Book I- article LXIII - Les belles lettres Editions - La roue à livres Collection (1991) - Translation: M.Casevitz page 77 and 78.

NOTE [5] - The “mechanical” theories: trestle of M.Strub-Roessler, lift of L.Croon or the oscillating elevator of G.Legrain.

NOTE [6] - The “ramp” theories: frontal ramp of J-P. Lauer, helicoidal ramp of G. Goyon, lateral ramp of R. Stadelmann or slot-in ramp of D. Arnold, eminent contemporary Egyptologists.

NOTE [7] - The “mixed” theories: represented by J. Kérisel and J-P. Adam.


NOTES OF CHAPTER “A SCIENTIFICAL, TECHNICAL, AND OPERATIVE RESEARCH”

NOTE [8] - Technological context defined by the previous and contemporary achievements such as the small boat of Cheops.


NOTES OF CHAPTER “THE PROCESS OF PYRAMIDAL GROWTH”

Note [9] - These blocks serve as padding for the obstruction of the ascending corridor. They were discovered by the sap of Al Mamoun in 827. Evidently they were in bigger numbers and had first a counterweight function, they were manoeuvred many times in the Great Gallery, which explains the presence of this trammel.

Note [10] - These monoliths are wrongly considered arches of discharge, whereas only the chevron-patterned superior device has this function.

Note [11] - Furthermore the layout of those raising monoliths (made of granite because of its higher bending resistance), far from being a mistake, is lighter filled space combined with empty space than a massif made of limestone.

Note [12] - The angle of the pyramid is function of the ratio height/half of the base which equals 1.25 (and not 1.2727 which is the root of the golden section, as it is claimed by some people).

Note [13] - The interlaying of angular stones is a recommended device in masonry which gives a greater solidity. As it happens here, it is not a building mistake, but it is rather imposed by the building system itself.

Note [14] - Auguste Choisy (1841-1909), son of an architect, French polytechician, engineer graduated from the Ecole des Ponts et Chaussées, publishes "L'Art de bâtir chez les Egyptiens" (1904)-Edouard Rouveyre, Publisher: "pyramids are built by successively adding layers of stone on the sides of a central 'little' pyramid." (p 99). He is the first one to schematize, in an intuitive manner, the building by layers and the onionskin-like structure, without ever demonstrating it.

Note [15] - Of course, to model is not to build and virtuality is not reality, however to model allows to conceptualize and to understand. This approach, coming from the Tradition, is used by the Companions of Duty, and is fundamental in stereotomy which permits the apprehension of volume.


NOTES OF CHAPTER “HERODOTUS WAS RIGHT”

Note [16] - “bomides”: small altar, socle, pedestal, elevated platform, table, entablature.

Note [17] - “crossaï”: corbel, crenel forming stairs.


NOTES OF CHAPTER “ORIGIN OF MATERIALS”

Note [18] - Remains of quarries that it is impossible to deny and necessary to integrate in any schema of explanation.

Note [19] - Scientific Geological Bulletin - Researches on the natural fracturing of rock 1969-1972. “Method to study the natural fracturing of rock associated with a variety of structural models” by Michel Ruhland. Research team associated with the CNRS “Structural Geology and tectonic analysis”. Institute of Geology at Louis Pasteur University, Strasbourg.
Contradicting what can have been said or written by some renown Egyptologists, the three Great pyramids are not located according to the Dog constellation, neither is their orientation determined by the heliacal rise of Sirius. The axis of the fold, determined by the presence of the great faults, is NE-SW, which results in the fact that the diagonal diaclases and therefore the pyramids will be oriented NS and/or EW.

Note [20] - See the aerial photography shot by Marilyn Bridges and published in her book “L'Égypte vue du ciel” p 40. (1996)- Editions du Seuil.


NOTES OF CHAPTER “TECHNICAL CONTINUUM”

Note [21] - It is in fact not surprising to notice that the term “ziggourat” (siqquratu) has a “s.q.r.” root which means “to be high” or even “to raise” and that it is the same Hamito-semitic root than “Saqqarah” since it deals with the same shape, could we infer that it also has to do with the same building system? It however needs to be verified.

Note [22] - Archeology of the prehistoric buildings “Dolmens for the Deads” Roger Joussaume 1985 Editions Hachette. All the dolmens in the world seem to have used this system, most of the time on a more or less mastered circular plan, however the dolmen of la Joselière in Pornic (Loire Atlantique, France) has the particularity to have been built on a square plan and to have two, maybe three parées, to the extend that it prefigures from a long time the upcoming step-pyramid.

Note [23] - Step-pyramid of Djoser in Saqqara is the most famous, it has supposedly been built by architect Imhotep. J.Ph. Lauer has been working for almost 70 years on this site without being able to come up with a satisfactory building explanation. It probably had 7 steps. It is from the analysis of this pyramid that Richard Lepsius will define the “accretion”, we suggest the “accretion-raising”, since the accretion is only motivated by the will to raise the building. However the correlation suggested by R. Lepsius, between the length of the Pharaoh's reign and the volume of the pyramid keeps whole its value. But it is also possible to consider that more than one king participated in the erection of the same building. This would explain most of the questions raised by the pyramid of Meidum.

Note [24] - Georges Ifrah “Universal story of numbers” (1981-1994) Editions Robert Laffont (p 394). The same way, the additional arithmetic learn by Pythagorus from the Egyptians, and that the Greek civilization will later deny and that will later be re- established by the Moderns, who will deduce from it the basics of contemporary Mathematical Theories, is only an adding game of series and sequences fit into each other.

NOTES DU CHAPITRE « RÉSUMÉ »

NOTE [1] - « Système constructif des pyramides » ouvrage de Pierre Crozat publié chez Canevas Editeur (1997) ISBN N° 2-88382-065-1


NOTES DU CHAPITRE « INTRODUCTION »

NOTE [2] - Elles sont datées de la IVe dynastie sous l'Ancien Empire. Les trois grandes se situent sur le plateau de Gizeh, proche du Caire, la plus grande et la plus célèbre « merveille du monde » étant celle du pharaon Khéops (hauteur : 147m)

NOTE [3] - Hérodote, historien grec (Ve siècle av. JC) - « L'Enquête » - livre II - art 125 et 126. Editions Gallimard (1964)

NOTE [4] - Diodore de Sicile, historien grec (1er siècle av. JC) - « Naissance des Dieux et des Hommes » - livre I - art LXIII - Editions Les Belles Lettres - Collection La roue à livres 1991 - Traduction de M. Casevitz - p 77 et 78

NOTE [5] - Les théories « machinistes » : chèvre de M. Strub-Roessler, élévateur de L. Croon ou l'ascenseur oscillant de G. Legrain

NOTE [6] - Les théories « rampistes » : rampe frontale de J. Ph. Lauer, rampe hélicoïdale de g. Goyon, rampe latérale de R. Stadelmann, ou engagée de D. Arnold, égyptologues contemporains éminents

NOTE [7] - Les théories « mixtes » : représentées par J. Kérisel et J.P. Adam


NOTES DU CHAPITRE « UNE RECHERCHE SCIENTIFIQUE, TECHNIQUE ET OPÉRATOIRE »

NOTE [8] - Contexte technologique défini par les réalisations précédentes et contemporaines telle que la barque de Khéops


NOTES DU CHAPITRE « LE PROCÉDÉ D'ACCROISSEMENT PYRAMIDAL »

Note [9] - Ces blocs servent de tampon pour l'obstruction du couloir ascendant. Ils ont été découvert par la sape d' Al Mamoun en 827. De tout évidence, ils étaient en nombre supérieur et ont eu une première fonction : celle de contre-poids et furent manœuvrés de nombreuses fois dans la Grande Galerie, expliquant ainsi la raison d'être de cette crémaillère.

Note [10] - Ces monolithes sont considérés à tort comme des arcs de décharge, seul le dispositif supérieur en chevron remplit ce rôle.

Note [11] - De plus cette disposition des monolithes de rehausse (en granit imposé par sa meilleure résistance à la flexion), loin d'être une erreur, est plus léger - les pleins additionnés aux vides - qu'un massif en calcaire.

Note [12] - La pente de la pyramide est donnée par le rapport hauteur/demi-base qui est égal à 1,25 (et non pas 1,2727 racine du nombre d'or comme certains le prétendent).

Note [13] - Le croisement des pierres angulaires est un appareillage conseillé en maçonnerie qui offre une meilleure solidité des ouvrages. En l'occurrence ici, ce n'est pas une erreur de construction, mais une impossibilité de mise en œuvre, imposée par le système.

Note [14] - Auguste Choisy(1841-1909), fils d'architecte, polytechnicien français, ingénieur de l'Ecole des Ponts et Chaussées, publie  «l'Art de bâtir chez les Egyptiens » (1904)-Edouard Rouveyre, Éditeur : « les pyramides sont exécutées par application successive de tranches de maçonnerie aux flancs d'un pyramidion central »(p 99). Il est le premier à schématiser, de façon intuitive, la construction par degrés et la structure en pelures d'oignon, sans toutefois les démontrer.

Note [15] - Bien évidemment, modélisation n'est pas construction et virtualité n'est pas réalité, cependant la modélisation permet la conceptualisation et la compréhension. Cette approche, issue de la Tradition, est utilisée par les Compagnons de Devoir, elle est fondamentale en stéréotomie qui permet d'appréhender le volume.


NOTES DU CHAPITRE « HÉRODOTE AVAIT RAISON »

Note [16] - « bomides » : petit autel, socle, piédestal, plate-forme élevée, table, entablement.

Note [17] - « crossaï » : corbeau, encorbellement, créneau formant escalier.


NOTES DU CHAPITRE « PROVENANCE DES MATÉRIAUX »

Note [18] - Reliquats de carrières qu'il est impossible de nier et qu'il est nécessaire d'intégrer dans tout schéma explicatif.

Note [19] - Scientific Geological Bulletin - Recherches sur la fracturation naturelle des roches 1969-1972 - « Méthode d'étude de la fracturation naturelle des roches associée à divers modèles structuraux » par Michel Ruhland.
Équipe de Recherche associée au CNRS « Géologie structurale et analyse tectonique » Institut de Géologie de l'Université Louis Pasteur à Strasbourg.
Contrairement à ce que l'on peut lire ou entendre, de la part de certains égyptologues de renom, les trois grandes pyramides ne seraient pas implantées à l'image de la Constellation du Chien, de même que leur orientation n'est pas dictée par le lever héliaque de Sirius. L'axe du pli, indiqué par la présence des grandes failles, est NE-SO, il en résulte que les diaclases diagonales et donc les pyramides seront orientées NS et/ou EO.

Note [20] - Voir la photographie aérienne réalisée par Marilyn Bridges et publiée dans son ouvrage « L'Egypte vue du ciel » p 40. (1996) -Editions du Seuil.


NOTES DU CHAPITRE « CONTINUUM TECHNIQUE »

Note [29] - Il n'est certes pas très surprenant de constater que le terme ziggourat « siqquratu » a comme racine « s.q.r » qui signifie « être haut  » ou peut-être même « s'exhausser » et que c'est la même racine chamito-sémitique que « Saqqarah » puisqu'il s'agit de la même forme, pourrait-on en déduire qu'il s'agit aussi de la même méthode de construction? Il faudra néanmoins le vérifier.

Note [30] - L' archéologie des édifices préhistoriques « Des dolmens pour les morts » - Roger Joussaume 1985 Éditions Hachette. Tous les dolmens dans le monde semblent avoir utilisé ce procédé, la plupart du temps sur plan circulaire plus ou moins maîtrisé, mais le dolmen de la Joselière à Pornic (Loire Atlantique) offre la particularité d'être sur plan carré et de comporter deux, peut-être trois parées, au point qu' il préfigure de loin les futures pyramides à degrés.

Note [31] - La pyramide à degrés de Djoser à Saqqara est la plus célèbre, elle aurait été construite par l'architecte Imhotep. J.Ph. Lauer a travaillé près de70 ans sur ce site sans toutefois nous en donner une explication constructive valable. Elle devait, à notre avis, comporter 7 degrés. C'est à l'analyse de cette pyramide à degrés que Richard Lepsius définira « l'accrétion », nous proposerons « accrétion-exhaussement », dans la mesure où l'accrétion n'est motivée que par la volonté d'exhausser l'édifice. Cependant la corrélation suggérée par R.Lepsius, entre la longueur du règne du Pharaon et le volume de sa pyramide garde toute sa valeur, néanmoins il n'est pas interdit de penser que plusieurs rois ont pu participer au même ouvrage. Ce qui expliciterait bien des questions posées par la pyramide de Meidum.

Note [32] - Georges Ifrah - « Histoire universelle des Chiffres » - (1981-1994) Éditions Robert Laffont.(p.394). De la même façon l'arithmétique additionnelle que Pythagore apprendra des Égyptiens, et que le monde grec dédaignera ensuite, pour être reprises par les Modernes, qui en déduisent les bases des Théories Mathématiques contemporaines, n'est que jeu d'additions, de séries et de suites, emboîtées.